Retrieving a man overboard

by

What methods do you have set up on your boat to retrieve someone from the water should they fall overboard? Prevention is better than cure, and ideally your crew will not fall into the sea; but there is always the chance it might happen. During the last 40 years or so of sailing, I have lost five people overboard, and all have been within 100m of a pontoon, pier or wharf. So I do have a few ideas of how to retrieve someone. Over the next few months I will show you some of these methods.

dsc00075.jpg

A tribuckle is an excellent piece of kit, sadly now, I believe, out of production, but there are some similar contraptions still available. Tied to the toe rail, and with the spinnaker halyard made to the apex the casualty is floated into the bunt of the contraption and then the halyard is taken up and the body rolls up the side of the boat. The major advantage is that the body is pulled out horizontally, which will mean less chance of the casualty having a stroke as the blood does not immediately drain to the toes. There may be difficulty in strong winds to get the material to stay in the water, a boathook may help here. What do you do if the man in the water is unconscious? You may like to discuss this by posting a comment below. If you have some brilliant idea for retrieving a casualty, why not explain it and I will publicise it in All At Sea?

sticky-sailing-on-arrow-027.jpg

6 Responses to “Retrieving a man overboard”

  1. Andy Bracewell Says:

    I have read your artical in the All At Sea January 2008 addition and also the above page with interest.
    Just to make you aware that Jason’s Cradle have now introduced an MOB recovery device specifically for the Leisure Market which is lighter than its commercial cousin.
    The Cradle operates by fixing one end around the stanchions and clipping the other end to the halyard. This enables a person to lower the Cradle to retreive the MOB. It can also be used as a ridgid bording ladder for persons able to assist themselves due to its unique design.
    If you would like further information on this product, then please do not hesitate to contact me.
    Regards

    Andy Bracewell
    Jason’s Cradle

  2. Eric Hymas Says:

    I remember trying man overboard on my brothers catamaran on a clam day in the Caribbean. Not much too it, I chucked myself off, my brother tacked a couple of times under sail and managed to pick me up with relatively no problems, to my surprise.

    Definitely a good idea to practice on a calm day so that when it does happen you are prepared and know what to do.

  3. van Says:

    Hi,

    I’m emailing to ask for permission if possible /(available through you) to publish a pic from your website about of the tribuckle as we mention what a useful product it is in a letter to the mag?

    Kind regards,
    Vanda

  4. van Says:

    Hi,

    I’m emailing to ask for permission if possible /(available through you) to publish a pic from your website about of the tribuckle as we mention what a useful product it is in a letter to the mag?

    Kind regards,
    Vanda
    Kind regards,

    Vanda Woolsey
    Picture Editor
    Yachting World/Supersail World
    Blue Fin Building
    IPC Media
    110 Southwark St
    London SE1 OSU

    +44 20 3148 4835

    Please send any picture attachments to:

    ywpictures@ipcmedia.com

    or if you have ftp software:

    Server= inbox.ipcmedia.com
    Username= yworld
    password= Wildey22

    Please email me to let me know if the latter option is used.

    With thanks.

  5. John Jeffrey Says:

    Does anyone have experience of using a Tribuckle single handed? We have one, but I’m not at all sure either my wife or I could manage to retrieve the other, without someone on the helm as well as managing the halyard and Tribuckle itself.

  6. stickystips Says:

    Sorry it has been such a long time in replying to John Jeffrey, but I have been delivering a boat to Turkey and have just looked at WordPress. I have used the Tribuckle, but only as a training exercise. The major problem is that unless it is weighted, the wind may catch it and it is difficult to control it and guide your crew into the loop. I swear by the 6:! tackle, about which I have written in the July edition of All at Sea.

    Sticky

Leave a comment